Captured Moments presents… Out Of My Comfort Zone

Last Thursday I had the opportunity to be the featured speaker at the monthly meeting of the Professional Photographers Guild of Colorado Springs.  As a photographer I have received much training throughout the years on how to take great portraits and how to run my business.  However, I have received very little training on how to actually “take care of myself” so that I can successfully run my business. senior-portraits-colorado-springs

So, with the goal of educating my fellow photographers on how to take care of their health so that they can better manage their stress (April is National Stress Awareness Month) I was able to share with them four major stress reducing strategies that I’ve employed to manage my own stress.  In recent years I’ve become very passionate about health and its effects on productivity, and have seen the positive results that maintaining a healthy lifestyle and managing stress have had on my own business.

colorado-springs-senior-photographer                   senior-pictures-colorado-springs

After the hour long presentation there was a question/answer period and one person asked me if I had gotten “stressed out” about speaking to a group of that size. With a slight chuckle I answered that, while public speaking (often regarded as one of the most stressful things an individual can go through) is outside of my comfort zone, I refused to let it get me stressed out.  It was my honor and privilege to be given the opportunity to speak to a group of my peers on a topic that I feel is so relevant to our wellbeing and businesses.

*Apologies for the quality of the images in this blog as they were taken with an iPhone in dark lighting.


8419Wendy4x5Wendy Schicktanz is a Certified Professional Photographer living in Colorado Springs.  She is the owner of Captured Moments Photography which specializes in photographing high school seniors, families, children and boudoir.  To view more of her award winning images visit her website at Captured Moments Gallery

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment